Promoting access to quality, safe, and relevant education for all persons affected by crisis

Announcing new INEE Steering Group members

15 May 2017

We are pleased to announce the addition of two new members of the INEE Steering Group.

New members in 2017:

  • Dubai Cares, Annina Mattsson
  • Finn Church Aid, Jouni Hemberg

Continuing members:

  • International Rescue Committee, Jennifer Sklar (Co-Chair)
  • NORAD, Randi Gramshaug
  • Norwegian Refugee Council, Silje Sjøvaag Skeie (Co-Chair)
  • UNESCO, Kerstin Holst
  • UNHCR, Ita Sheehy
  • UNICEF, Friedrich Affolter
  • USAID, Nina Papadopoulos
  • World Vision International, Jonathan B. Miller

Our two new members – selected through an open and transparent application process – complement the high caliber and diversity of the overall group, which includes key education in emergencies actors from UN agencies, international NGOs, and donors.

Please join us in welcoming these new members!

Visit the INEE website to learn more about the new members and to read the bios of all of the Steering Group members.

We take this opportunity also to acknowledge the tremendous commitment and work of two outgoing Steering Group members – RET International, represented by Marina Anselme and the Open Society Foundations, represented, in turn, by Ian McPherson, Aleesha Taylor, and Kate Lapham – who provided invaluable leadership to the network during the past six years.

The INEE Steering Group is responsible for setting goals and plans for the network and providing strategic direction to the INEE Director and the Secretariat. Steering Group members are senior representatives of organizations actively engaged in education in emergencies. All Steering Group members have equal status in the group, and no member may make decisions for INEE in his/her own individual capacity. Steering Group organizations support INEE with monetary and in-kind contributions. In addition to attending two Steering Group meetings per year, representatives give substantial time reviewing and providing strategic input into INEE activities throughout the year.

Best regards,

Jennifer Sklar, International Rescue Committee
Silje Sjøvaag Skeie, Norwegian Refugee Council
INEE Steering Group Co-Chairs